2010 Kerry Twenty20 Final

The 2010 Kerry Twenty20 final once again featured the Dingle Dingos’, this time playing the Tralee Ace’s. Both teams had met twice during the qualifying stages, winning 1 match a piece. Throughout the tournament both teams had proved themselves to be worthy finalists demonstrating consistent enthusiasm, dedication and commitment.

In front of a record crowd the Ace’s won the toss and decided to field. Keen bowling, and a great all round fielding performance saw wickets fall at regular intervals, restricting the run rate to 6 per over. With just 1 over remaining, and only 85 runs on the board, it looked as though the Dingo’s would finish with less than 100 runs. However, with the raucous Aussie section of the crowd cheering them on, some determined and aggressive batting saw a final total of 107 posted.
Amid the deafening din of the Members and Grand Stand the Ace’s replied strongly, reaching 50 runs in just 4 overs. However, the excitement was short lived as 2 quick wickets fell and the runs dried up as the Dingo’s dug in with some tight bowling and excellent fielding. It was not until the 14th over and the loss of 3 further wickets that the Ace’s finally reached their target, emerging as victors by 5 wickets.

In the post match presentations:

Man of the match was awarded to Asim Zubair for his rapid 19 run innings, and 2 wicket haul.

Batsman of the Tournament was awarded to Mark Munday of the Dingle Dingos’ with an average of 44 runs.

Bowler of the Tournament was awarded to Mohammed for his 13 wickets.